If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Google Stadia will have similar latency to Xbox One S - rumour

Games run via Google Stadia won’t suffer from worse latency than their console counterparts, despite the fact that it’s a streaming service.

That’s the claim made by Stadia’s VP of engineering, Majd Bakar. The quote forms part of the same leaked Lapresse.ca article that detailed a Google Stadia launch in November with a $9 subscription (not including the cost of a Chromecast and newer, separately purchased games like Destiny 2).

“We’ve run tests showing that there will [be] no difference in latency between Stadia and an Xbox One S,” reads MCV’s translation of Bakar.

There’s also news of a service with no subscription fee, destined for launch in 2020, apparently named Stadia Base. That version of Stadia will be limited to 1080p, and will still require players to pay extra for newer games.

You can watch today’s Google Stadia livestream here at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm UK, and 6pm CEST.

Tagged With

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch