GTA Online goes offline in preparation for GTA 5 launch on PS4, Xbox One

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 29 October 2014 19:25 GMT

Those wondering why they can’t log into GTA Online needn’t worry: it’s just down for scheduled maintenance; however, it will be offline for quite a few hours.

Rockstar took the servers offline at 2pm EDT/6pm GMT and the developer doesn’t expect servers to be back up for at least seven hours.

This means you won’t be able to play until at least 9pm EDT/1am GMT.

The downtime is in preparation for the November 18 launch of GTA 5 on PS4 and Xbox One.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments