PS4: ‘no DRM’ Twitter campaign set for final push this week, also targets Xbox One

By Dave Cook, Monday, 3 June 2013 11:56 GMT

PlayStation 4 fans have recently made their voices heard on the matter of DRM and anti-preowned measures in Sony’s next-gen console. #PS4noDRM campaign member Paul Lopez has confirmed to VG247 that this week will see a second and final wave of protest that will also target Xbox One DRM as well.

In an email to VG247, Lopez confirmed that the campaign will call on gamers to tweet to Sony and Microsoft executives, together with either the #PS4noDRM, #PS4USEDGAMES or #XboxOneNoDRM tags from June 5 starting at 8AM EST / 5AM PST/ 1PM GMT. It is hoped that gamers will convince the executives to steer clear of anti pre-owned measures within PS4 and Xbox One.

The PS4 tags are returning despite Sony president Shuhei Yoshida stating that PS4 will not block pre-owned games, suggesting that the campaign organisers want to give the hastags one last push before E3 just in case.

The focus will surely be on Xbox One’s confirmed DRM measures however, which have sparked a mass uproar following Microsoft’s confirmation that the console will block used games unless a fee is paid. Recent rumours suggest the fee is £35.

Should you wish to get involved on the PS4 side, suggested Sony executives include:

  • Shuhei Yoshida (president of worldwide studios)
  • John Koller (head of hardware marketing)
  • Guy Longworth (senior vice president PlayStation Brand Marketing)
  • Scott Rohde (PlayStation Software Product Development Head for Sony Worldwide Studios America)

You can keep track of the campaign’s progress over at the official PS4noDRM site.

You can also check out the Xbox One campaign here.

Will you be getting involved on June 5? Let us know below.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

#ps4nodrm

#ps4usedgames