Hideo Kojima to accept Industry Icon Award at The Game Awards 2016 next month

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 18 November 2016 21:02 GMT

After being unable to attend The Game Awards last year due to a contract issue with Konami, Hideo Kojima will be present at this year’s ceremony.

There, he will accept the Industry Icon award, per a tweet from show organizer and presenter Geoff Keighley.

Last year, Keifer Sutherland, who voiced Snake in Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain, accepted an award for the game on behalf of Kojima and the Kojima Productions team.

The winner of the Industry Icon Award last year went to Westwood Studios co-founders Brett Sperry and Louis Castle.

Kojima is working on a new title backed by Sony called Death Stranding which was announced at E3 2016. It looks like an odd duck at this point, because we know next to nothing about it, but that’s Kojima’s way. He likes to keep his fans guessing.

The Game Awards 2016 takes place on Thursday, December 1, and kicks off at 6pm PT/9pm ET/2am UK. The list of nominees were announced earlier this week.

Since Kojima is attending the awards show next month, it’s quite possible he will show another trailer for Death Stranding. Again, possible. We’ll be covering the event, as we do every year, so keep your eyes on this space.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments