Pokemon commercial to air during Super Bowl 50

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 26 January 2016 20:32 GMT

The first-ever Pokemon Super Bowl TV commercial will debut next month during the American Football Holiday.

Those watching the sports event can expect the 30-second clip to air during the third quarter on February 7. The video above is an extended version of the ad.

The commercial will also be featured in the upcoming CBS annual special “Super Bowl’s Greatest Commercials,” which will air on February 2 at 5pm PT/8pm ET.

It’s all part of the 20th anniversary celebration of the Pokemon franchise.

The ad was shot in Rio de Janiero and is a huge nod to the millions of Pokemon fans around the world.

Super Bowl 50 airs on CBS Sunday, February 7 at 3.30pm PT/6.30pm ET. The Carolina Panthers will be going up against the Denver Broncos.

The halftime show features Coldplay with special guest Beyonce.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.