Sections

Gamescom 2011 – The VG247 liveblog starts now

Monday, 15th August 2011 22:08 GMT By Patrick Garratt

We’re in Cologne, Germany for gamescom 2011. The flags are up. The stairs are postered. Here’s what’s happening.

Johnny and I are both in Cologne, ready for the start of gamescom tomorrow. We’ll be updating in the liveblog below. Keep watching tomorrow for updates from the Microsoft Play Day, followed by EA’s press conference and, of course, Sony later in the day.

Here are the timing’s for all the press events tomorrow and Wednesday. We’re going to have live updates and photos from everything.

  • Microsoft Play Day – Tuesday, August 16: 12:30pm CET, 11:30am BST, 6:30am EST, 3:30am PST, 8:30pm Sydney
  • EA press conference – Tuesday, August 16: 4pm CET, 3pm BST, 10am EST, 8am PST, 12:30 pm Sydney (Aug 17). Livestream details here.
  • Sony press conference – Tuesday, August 16: 7pm CET, 6pm BST, 1pm EST, 10am PST, 3am Sydney (Aug 17). Livestream details here.
  • NCSoft press conference – Wednesday, August 17: 9am CET, 8am BST, 3am EST, 12am PST, 5pm Sydney.

Get full details on what to expect here.

Keep watching below, for red hot updates from our barely legible conversation and microwave pizza in a plastic hotel bar. That’ll only last for a bit. We’ll have better stuff tomorrow, promise.

Breaking news

23 Comments

Sign in to post a comment.

  1. bluffbluff03

    I´ll be there on thursday. That entrance looks really cool!!

    Will there be more photos today?

    #1 3 years ago
  2. Bozzard

    http://imgur.com/yhMKA

    Here is the finished ad for Uncharted 3

    #2 3 years ago
  3. Razor

    Come on Polyphony, announce some DLC….pleeeeeeease……

    #3 3 years ago
  4. onlineatron

    Where are the live streams happening?

    #4 3 years ago
  5. Patrick Garratt

    All the pics added now. There’s one of Johnny for good luck.

    #5 3 years ago
  6. KAP

    Can’t wait for tomorrow, is there any rumours on any new ip or secret announcements or is it games weve already seen from E3 or Comic con?

    #6 3 years ago
  7. Patrick Garratt

    I’ve added in links giving details of the livestreams in the text above the liveblog for you.

    #7 3 years ago
  8. Phoenixblight

    @6

    Will be a majority of games we know about that are coming out within the next 6 months. E3 is when announcements happen.

    #8 3 years ago
  9. Patrick Garratt

    I know of something being shown at the MS Play Day for the first time tomorrow. I’m personally interested in seeing it. I wouldn’t expect too much new stuff in general, though. There are a few things, but it’s mainly all stuff you know about.

    #9 3 years ago
  10. daytripper

    @9 trials evolution?

    #10 3 years ago
  11. rrw

    @8 but if you talking about sony, they will take this one seriously

    anyway sony side we have rumor of price cut and quatic dream new IP. of course vita will be main focus there

    EA rumored to show ME3 multiplayer

    NCsoft probably some guild war blowout

    #11 3 years ago
  12. KAP

    @6

    Seiously? Oh.
    What am I getting excited for then… Sigh

    #12 3 years ago
  13. Patrick Garratt

    I reckon the EA one will definitely be worth watching, as will Sony. Expect a load of Vita stuff. And I’m pumped for the NCsoft game. I reckon that could be one of the stories of the show.

    #13 3 years ago
  14. Monk

    Dota 2 Trailer

    http://www.dota2.com/trailer

    #14 3 years ago
  15. Erthazus

    NC Soft Game + Quantic Dream project (probably) are the real story of the show. I’m sure.

    NC soft will be the most impressive with its guild Wars 2 and new MMO.

    @14, looks fantastic.

    #15 3 years ago
  16. Brenna Hillier

    This is already the best liveblog we’ve ever done.

    #16 3 years ago
  17. felixvercetti

    Patrick, we are in the same Hotel. I saw you in the Conference Bar tonight. LOL

    #17 3 years ago
  18. Patrick Garratt

    Yep! See you in the morning, dude.

    #18 3 years ago
  19. xino

    wtf?!

    why did he disable comments? wtf?

    #19 3 years ago
  20. rrw

    NC soft livestream here

    http://eu.ncsoft.com/en-gb/events/gamescom_2011.html

    #20 3 years ago
  21. el duderino

    @19 Some prick made a stupid comment.It’s still there i guess.

    #21 3 years ago
  22. anuekr

    It was supposed to start already, wasn’t it?

    #22 3 years ago
  23. Fin

    ? What’s the super-secret-special press conf Pat mentioned?

    #23 3 years ago