Rainbow Six Siege to ship with 11 maps, post-launch maps to be free

By Sherif Saed
16 September 2015 10:17 GMT

Rainbow Six Siege will launch with 11 playable maps, with all maps releasing post-launch to be free.


Update: After yesterday’s news, Ubisoft has said today Rainbow Six Siege will ship with 11 maps, not ten, and that all of them will be playable in both day and night versions.

In addition, all maps released post-launch will be free.

Original story: Rainbow Six Siege will deliver ten maps out of the box. Level designer Benoit Deschamps told PCGamer that although the team had over 50 ideas for map settings, they narrowed it down to ten.

You could say variety is the one thing that will make or break a game like Rainbow Six Siege. The number of different variations in class set-ups is all well and good, but if you’re shooting bad guys in the same locations a few times, it will get old.

That of course varies from one person to another. After all, people still play Counter-Strike’s de_dust to this day, and Siege certainly shares some similarities with that game.

As for Siege, ten maps won’t just be what you’re getting out of it. According to Deschamps, the development team is already working on more content to be added post-launch.

Siege is due for a beta September 24. The full game comes out December 1 on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch