Gears 3 gets Fenix Rising map pack, new level progression system on January 17

By Johnny Cullen
21 December 2011 14:57 GMT

Microsoft’s announced the Fenix Rising map pack for Gears of War 3, with a new level progression system also being introduced alongside its release.

The pack will come with five new maps: Academy, Anvil, Depths, Escalation and The Slab.

New character skins will be included for both COG and Locust, with Recruit Clayton and Thrashball Cole for the COGs. Locusts will get Savage Marauder and Savage Kantus.

The pack will launch on January 17 for 800 MS points or as part of the Gears of War 3 season pass.

Gears 3’s new progression system will enable hardcore players of up to Level 100 who’ve purchased Fenix Rising will be able to what Microsoft calls “Re-Up” at least three times, earning three new colours in the process: red, green and gold.

Those who do Re-Up will have their stats wiped, a la Call of Duty’s Prestige Mode, but will be able to earn weapon bonuses obtainable by Re-Upping, such as Plasma, Omen and Electric.

Media below.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch