GMA 2012 – get all your winners here

Thursday, 18th October 2012 20:43 GMT By Stephany Nunneley

The 2012 GMAs took place tonight in London, and it celebrated the best and brightest in videogames journalism in the UK.

Those who were nominated are below, with the winners highlighted in bold.

Pat was up for a Top Tweeter award, and although he didn’t win, we feel he deserved the title. Sure we’re biased, but honestly, his Twitter insanity deserves recognition.

Games Media Legend: Kieron Gillen

First annual Games Writer of the Year award: Keza MacDonald

Specialist Writer – Print

  • Christian Donlan
  • Edwin Evans-Thirlwell
  • Matthew Castle
  • Joel Gregory
  • Jason Killingsworth

Specialist Writer – Online

  • Martin Gaston
  • Simon Parkin
  • Keza MacDonald
  • Christian Donlan
  • Pat Garratt
  • Wesley Yin-Poole

National Newspaper – Writer

  • Simon Parkin
  • Michael Plant
  • Dan Silver
  • Keith Stuart
  • Tom Hoggins
  • Lee Price
  • David Jenkins

Mainstream Magazine – Writer

  • Jonathan Pile
  • Leon Poultney
  • Matt Hill
  • Helen Lewis
  • James Dyer

Rising Star

  • Tamoor Hussain
  • Lee Bradley
  • Matthew Reynolds
  • David Scammell
  • Owen Hill
  • Joe Robinson
  • Lucy James

Top Tweeter

  • Steve Hogarty – @misterbrilliant
  • Martin Gaston – @squidmania
  • Debbie Timmins – @weefz
  • Matt Lees – @jam_sponge
  • Mark Brown – @britishgaming
  • Pat Garrat – @patlike

Games Magazine

  • PC Gamer
  • Edge
  • Retro Gamer
  • Official PlayStation Magazine
  • Nintendo Gamer
  • GamesTM

Games Website

  • IGN
  • Eurogamer
  • Gamespot UK
  • CVG
  • Rock Paper Shotgun
  • VG247

Games Blog

  • Ready Up
  • The Average Gamer
  • We See In Pixels
  • Gamewaste
  • Hookshot Inc

Games Video

  • OXM Breakdown
  • Inside Xbox
  • Start Select
  • PlayStation Access TV
  • Yogscast

Games Radio and Podcast

  • OneLifeLeft
  • BBC Radio 5 Live’s Game On
  • Pocket Gamer
  • BBC Radio 1Xtra

Coverage by a Mainstream Website

  • Digital Spy
  • Huffington Post
  • Holy Moly
  • Sabotage Times
  • Maxim



  1. Stephany Nunneley

    First winner has been highlighted.

    #1 2 years ago
  2. GwynbleiddiuM

    A games journalism award without a single Dave Cook nomination is indeed bogus, therefore I do not acknowledge this charade.

    #2 2 years ago
  3. Telepathic.Geometry

    Nice to see Keza is still doing well out there in the wild. I was worried after hearing some disturbing rumours about IGN… ;_;

    #3 2 years ago
  4. Digital Bamboo

    Who won the Games Blog category? No bold.

    #4 2 years ago
  5. Dave Cook

    @2 dude I already have 3 GMAs ;) how many more does one man need? :)

    #5 2 years ago
  6. Telepathic.Geometry

    4! Sort it out fella!

    #6 2 years ago
  7. Dark

    Eurogamer is shit , and the members are even worse than N4G.

    #7 2 years ago
  8. Telepathic.Geometry

    Eurogamer has some really good staff man. Rab Florence, Olly welsh to mention a few. The site is well put together, and it has a thriving forumite infestation. Where’s the hate coming from?

    #8 2 years ago
  9. GrimRita

    @2 damn right
    @5 you need one more to add some balance.

    I agree with #7. Mainly because when Eurogamer reviews anything, its led by how many advertising revenue has been spent, rather than actually how good/bad a game is.

    #9 2 years ago
  10. mathare92

    @9 When Eurogamer reviews anything, its led by how many advertising revenue has been spent, rather than actually how good/bad a game is.

    Sure. You could pretty much blindly throw that accusation at any games website that does reviews. I’ve read EG for a long time now. My opinion: it’s probably got the best spread of games writers, full time or freelance, in the UK, if not the world. Donlan and Parkin are alone worth the price of admission (so to speak).

    #10 2 years ago
  11. Prof.Dr.Moertel

    @4 Hookshot got it

    #11 2 years ago
  12. Dave Cook

    @10 Donlan and Parkin are saints, love their stuff, lovely guys, well worth the price of admission as you say.

    #12 2 years ago

Comments are now closed on this article.