Wed, May 11, 2011 | 08:17 BST
Bootlegged DSLite a well-made, slightly sloppy forgery
When Jeremy Parish bought an Apple Green DS Lite from a “seemingly reputable” eBay seller, subtle details on the handheld didn’t seem quite right.

In an illustrated diary-like entry over at 1UP, Parish takes a positive approach – “at least I know how to spot a bootleg now.”
He explains how things seemed off as soon as he opened the parcel, including the “texture and construction of the box” and oddly-pixelated text printed on the back. It wasn’t until he opened the corrugated cardboard box that he realised the truth.
“There was no question once I actually looked at the unit,” Parish writes. “This is a complete fake. It’s an amazing fake to be sure, but definitely not a legit system.”
Rather than storm around the apartment, breaking things and vowing never to purchase anything online ever again, Parish took a deep breath and decided to share his experiences, in the hope that it may help others spot fakes.
Keep an eye out for “pock-marked” or discoloured plastic, which doesn’t meet manufacturer’s usually-high standards. Edges which don’t quite meet flush is another giveaway, along with mis-aligned text, and other relatively subtle cosmetic flaws.
For what it’s worth, the console is “practically perfect”, Parish explains. It feels the same, and – importantly – it all works. Of course, there’s no after-purchase Nintendo support, and no guarantee that it will continue to work, but – in the short term at least – this is one of the better bootleg stories we’ve heard.
Thanks, Jeremy, for sharing your story!


6 comments
#1
Blerk
11/05/11, 8:54 am
That’s pretty amazing for a knock-off!
#2
James Mac
11/05/11, 10:16 am
Probably helped his mood that he could write the cost off on tax.
#3
RockTwist
11/05/11, 10:48 am
Surely that should be ‘mushy pea’ green?
#4
xino
11/05/11, 1:55 pm
I never use ebay!
things like this are bound to happen!
as I was also conned once!
#5
Trash Man
11/05/11, 4:39 pm
@4 It’s not just eBay. I had a forged DS game from play.com a few years ago. They replaced it without question.
#6
TheWulf
11/05/11, 7:53 pm
That 1UP has Parish is, again, why it’s one of my more favoured gaming sites. This was great stuff.