Everyone can jump into Gwent: The Witcher Card Game next week during open beta

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 17 May 2017 17:29 GMT

A public open beta for Gwent: The Witcher Card Game has been announced and kicks off next week.

Scheduled to begin May 24, the Public Beta will be available for PC, Xbox One and PlayStation 4.

“Public Beta is the next step in the game’s development process, one that we’d be honored to continue alongside everyone who’s been with us thus far,” said Benjamin Lee, development director at CD Projekt RED.

“It’s also a chance for many new gamers to play Gwent for the first time and we’re looking forward to making the game even better with their help,” added Lee.

A Public Beta overview will be streamed on the official CDP Twitch channel today at 12pm PDT/ 3pm EDT/ 8pm UK/ 9pm CEST.

Those who have been playing the closed beta should know card collections and player progress will reset to ensure everyone starts on equal footing.

Everyone who participated in the closed beta will receive Card Kegs, as well as other in-game rewards for participation.

Additional information regarding closed beta participation rewards is available through the official Gwent website.

The switch from closed to public beta will see the servers go offline starting May 22. They will remain offline until the open beta kicks off on May 24 for PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

If you player the card game in Geralt’s latest adventure, it’s worth noting  Gwent stand-alone is different than in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. Since card collecting isn’t entirely RNG-based as some other card battlers are, give our guide featuring tips on how to level up, get new cards and build decks to give you a head start.

Gwent: The Witcher Card is currently without a release date, but once the public open beta winds down, we expect an announcement to be made.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments