If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

The Last of Us wins Writer's Guild of America's top videogame award

The Last of Us has won the WGA's 'Outstanding Achievement in Writing for Video Games' award.

It follows confirmation that The Last of Us: Left Behind will drop February 14. Hit the link to see the expansion's opening cinematic and official trailer.

Naughty Dog writer Neil Druckmann won the WGA's top videogame award at a ceremony in New York on February 1, beating several competing titles to the gong.

The nominees included Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag writers Darby McDevitt, Mustapha Mahrach, Jean Guesdon, Jill Murray, Nicholas Grimwood and Mark Llabres Hill, Batman: Arkham Origins writers Dooma Wendschuh, Ryan Galletta and Corey May, Marianne Krawczyk and Ariel Lawrence for God of War: Ascension, and finally, Richard Gaubert, Orion Walker and Matt Sophos for writing Lost Planet 3.

Would you agree with Druckmann's win? Let us know below.

Via Polygon.

About the Author

Dave Cook avatar

Dave Cook


Living in Edinburgh, Scotland. Writing a game called Jettison and a book called Seventh Circle. Loves spicy food.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch