If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

The Last of Us, Assassin's Creed 4 among Writers Guild of America Awards nominees

The Writers Guild of America has announced video game nominees for its 2014 awards, highlighting quite a diverse group of triple-A titles.

The nominations for the outstanding achievement in video games writing category are as follows:

  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Story by Darby McDevitt, Mustapha Mahrach, Jean Guesdon; Lead Scriptwriter Darby McDevitt; Scriptwriter Jill Murray; AI Scriptwriter Nicholas Grimwood; Scriptwriter Singapore Mark Llabres Hill; Ubisoft
  • Batman: Arkham Origins, Narrative Director Dooma Wendschuh; Writer & Senior Narrative Designer Ryan Galletta; Writer Corey May; Warner Bros. Interactive
  • God of War: Ascension, Written by Marianne Krawcyzk; Additional Writing Ariel Lawrence; Sony Computer Entertainment
  • The Last of Us, Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment
  • Lost Planet 3, Head Writer Richard Gaubert; Writers Orion Walker, Matt Sophos; Capcom

The 2014 Writers Guild Awards will be held on February 1 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

Last year, Assassin's Creed: Liberation won the top spot. If you're a bit confused by the nominations, remember that some publishers abstain from the controversial selection process.

It's worth remembering that the Writers Guild of America is distinct from the Writers' Guild of Great Britain, which has greater respect for apostrophes and gave Thomas Was Alone its top 2013 honour over Tomb Raider and Lego City Undercover.

Thanks, Destructoid.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch