If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

State of Play set for Thursday with a look at Deathloop, third-party games

We're getting a State of Play showcase this week, but it may not be the one you expected.

Sony has detailed the next State of Play presentation. Taking place this Thursday, July 8, the showcase will primarily focus on Arkane's Deathloop, with a nine-minute gameplay demo.

The 30-minute livestream kicks off at 2pm PT, 5pm ET, 10pm UK, and will also feature news from some indie games, as well as other third-party titles.

Don't expect first-party content there, however, as Sony said it won't feature God of War, or Horizon Forbidden West. You also shouldn't expect any hardware talk, as PlayStation's next-gen VR headset will not make an appearance, either. Interestingly, Sony did not specifically mention the recently-announced Ghost of Tsushima expansion, which we've yet to see in action.

It did, however, say that more first-party news will arrive over the course of the summer. It's possible the platform holder is saving those up for a more first-party-focused State of Play in a few weeks.

As always, we'll bring you all the biggest news from this week's State of Play.

About the Author
Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Black Friday Sale: save 25% off a yearly subscription!

Your support helps keep VG247 a kick-ass, no BS destination for discussion of the biggest topics in video games. Join today to unlock:

  • Ad-free browsing
  • Monthly Letter from Editor Tom Orry
  • Commenting Flair
  • Merch Discounts
See more information
Comments
VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

Explore our store
VG247 Merch