If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

What you'll find in Star Wars: The Old Republic - Knights of the Fallen Empire

Star Wars: The Old Republic players who meet requirements can now access the new expansion, Knights of the Fallen Empire.


SWTOR: Knights of the Fallen Empire is in early access for those who meet the subscriber requirements; you need to have been a paying member on four key dates this year. Everyone else will have to wait for October 27 to get in on the action. This is the expansion EA announced with a gorgeous trailer at E3 2015, so that feels like a long time.

The full content update has rolled out, though, so you can at least look over what's about to surface if you can't get in just yet. The full patch notes are way too long to reproduce, filled with balancing and fixes and feature changes, but here are the key points:

  • All classes can now reach Level 65
  • New Ongoing Storyline
    Knights of the Fallen Empire begins an epic, new storyline at level 60, with nine, action-packed Chapters. Regular Chapter releases continue the story starting in Early 2016. (Subscription Required)
  • Start at Level 60
    Jump right into the action of Knights of the Fallen Empire with the option to begin the game at level 60. (Subscription Required)
  • New Player Tutorial
    Chapter 1 introduces you to your class’s abilities and eases you into combat while the story unfolds. Veteran players can disable the Tutorial via the Menu.
  • New Planet: Zakuul
    The new seat of power in the galaxy. Skyscrapers reach toward the stars while surrounded by a vast and savage swamp.
  • New Companions
    Unlock new Companions over the course of the first nine Chapters of Knights of the Fallen Empire.
  • Begin your Alliance
    Continue your adventure after Chapter IX by recruiting Companions to grow your Alliance.
  • New Flashpoint: Star Fortress
    Conquer the new Flashpoint and liberate the Galaxy from the grasp of the Eternal Empire.
  • New 1-60 Leveling Experience!
    Leveling from level 1 has never been more exciting. You can now reach Level 60 by doing Main Story Arc Missions and Planetary Arc Missions.
  • Reworked Primary Stats
    The four primary stats Strength, Willpower, Cunning, and Aim have all been replaced by a single stat called Mastery. For this and other stat changes, see the Classes + Combat section below.
  • New System: Level Sync
    Adventure with other players with Level Sync. Get level appropriate Experience and Mission rewards while grouping with other players on the core worlds, while retaining all of your abilities! Those womp rats won’t know what hit them.
  • Legacy-Wide Datacrons Now Live
    Found Datacrons now grant stat bonuses to every character in your Legacy. You can track your Datacron progress in the Legacy window.
  • Flashpoint and Operation Revamp
    Flashpoints and Operations have been revisited and updated. New Modes are now available for many older Flashpoints, and many others are now available at max Level. See the Flashpoints + Operations section for full details.
  • Ranked Arena Season 6 has come to an end
    Season 6 has come to a glorious conclusion. You can use your Season 6 Tokens to purchase rewards from the vendor in the Combat section of either Fleet.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch