If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Sea of Thieves beta extended by 2 days

Rare is extending the Sea of Thieves closed beta to compensate players for the many issues the beta's run into these past couple of days.

As players in the wider gaming community start to experience Sea of Thieves, thanks to the closed beta, many have been running into a number of problems.

Some of the most common errors, like Too Early and BronzeBeard, prompted developer Rare to deploy a few fixes, but things are still not where they need to be. For instance, the 'Too Early' fix, although released, is taking longer than anticipated to reach all affected players.

As a result of all the issues, Rare has decided to extended the beta by two more days. Now, the Sea of Thieves closed beta will end at 12am PT, 3am ET, 8am UK on Wednesday, January 31.

Sea of Thieves

Should leave plenty of time for the remaining issues to be resolved, and for players to explore more of the beta uninterrupted.

If you're looking to jump in soon, be sure to read our guide to sailing, treasure, and combat. Though the game may appear simple, many of its mechanics are not explained very well, or at all in some cases.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch