If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Playdate pre-orders open July 29, and Panic promises they won't sell out

All remaining pre-order information about Playdate have been revealed.

Playdate, the handheld console with a crank, will be available to pre-order on Thursday, July 29. Pre-orders open up directly on the Playdate website at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK.

You'll be able to pre-order the console on its own, for $179, a cover for $29, or a bundle of the two for $199. Panic, the company behind this unique handheld, promised that pre-orders will not sell out. Every order will be placed in a queue, and everyone is required to pay the full amount when pre-ordering (though you can cancel at any time), which should help deter scalpers. You can also only pre-order two units per person.

The first batch is roughly 20,000 units, which will begin shipping towards the end of the year. Orders made after that initial batch will ship in 2022. Panic said that production will scale up/down with demand.

Initially, Playdate will be shipping to these 16 countries, but Panic is open to expanding this list down the line. Shipping costs include duties and taxes pre-paid, which is what makes shipping everywhere complicated, according to Panic.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch