If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Phantasy Star Online 2 New Genesis global closed beta coming next month

Players everywhere will soon get a chance to try out Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis.

Phantasy Star Online 2 New Genesis, the half-expansion, half-sequel to Sega's action MMO, has been in various forms of limited tests since its reveal last year. In one month, however, things will be a little more open.

Sega has set a date for the New Genesis global closed beta test. This limited trial will be available May 14-16, only on PC. Phantasy Star Online 2 fans won't be surprised to learn that the upcoming test can only be accessed through the Microsoft Store, and not Steam.

As with other Phantasy Star Online 2 tests, you'll need to sign up through the Xbox Insider Hub app. Registration starts next week, on April 21 at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK.

Sega says slots are limited, so register as soon as it opens to guarantee a spot. If you do end up playing, you'll earn a reward for use in the main game when it launches.

The closed beta itself kicks off May 14 at 6pm PT, 9pm ET, 2am UK (May 15). You'll be able to play until May 16 at 7pm PT, 10pt ET, 3am UK (May 17).

Sign in and unlock a world of features

Get access to commenting, homepage personalisation, newsletters, and more!

In this article

Phantasy Star Online 2

Android, iOS, PS4, Xbox One, PlayStation Vita, PC

Related topics
About the Author
Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Contributor

Sherif (he/him) is VG247’s go-to shooter and Souls-likes person. Whether it’s news, reviews, or op-eds – Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He's one of VG247's most veteran writers, with 10+ years experience on the site.

Comments