If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Non-Rising fans should "patiently wait" for stealth-based MGS sequel, says Kojima

Not liking the direction Metal Gear Rising has taken? Simple: wait for the next, true Metal Gear Solid game, Hideo Kojima has said.

It follows the re-unveil of Rising at the VGAs on Saturday, now in the hands of Platinum Games. Some hardcore fans of the series haven't given the new direction the thumbs-up.

In a tweet, following a press junket in the US overnight for Rising with Platinum's Atsushi Inaba, Kojima said: "Had same kind of questions @today's conf. Our ex-RISING also were aiming at feel good action w/ protagonist, Raiden as a Spin-off, not MGS & such concept was shared w/ New RISING by P*.

"For those of you desire for authentic stealth MGS, I want you to patiently wait for the sequel coming in future."

A proper stealth-based MGS title hasn't been released since Peace Walker on PSP last summer. It re-released as a console title for PS3 and 360 in the MGS HD Collection, which comes to Europe in February.

Konami's promised the release of a special documentary involving Kojima Productions and Platinum Games on Rising's development for 5pm PST/8pm EST tonight (1am GMT) on the MGS website.

Metal Gear Rising launches on PS3 and 360 next year.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch