If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Mortal Kombat 11 Aftermath's latest trailer breaks down the story according to Johnny Cage

The latest trailer for Mortal Kombat 11 offers a nice refresher on everything that has happened in the game so far ahead of tomorrow's major update.

Narrated by the one-and-only Johnny Cage, the new trailer is teeing things up for Mortal Kombat 11 Aftermath's own injection of story to the game. As we've previously reported, Aftermath will add five new story chapters to the game and kicks off where Mortal Kombat 11's storyline ended.

But perhaps more interesting is what it hints at for Aftermath's storyline. If you don't want to risk spoilers, then look away now.

The trailer gives us a glimpse at what we can expect in those five new story chapters, beginning with Liu Kang and Raiden attempting to alter time. Later, Shang Tsung, Nightwolf, and Fujin emerge from a portal to inform Liu Kang that he can't continue without Kronika's crown. But the only way to get that is to send Shang Tsung back to the past.

Earlier this month, developer NetherRealm revealed the three new characters set to join the Mortal Kombat 11 roster - Fujin, Sheeva, and RoboCop. While the full Aftermath expansion will set you back $39.99, the game is also getting a free update in the form of Friendship finishing moves. This gets you gore-free animations at the conclusion of a fight, from Jax performing a sax solo to Liu Kang disco dancing.

The MK11: Aftermath expansion is set to launch tomorrow on May 26 for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, and Stadia. Take a look at our full run-down of everything that is available in the upcoming release.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch