If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Knockout City is now free to play until level 25

Knockout City's launch trial may have ended, but there's another way you can try the game out without paying.

At launch, Knockout City was fairly easy to play for free. Though this is a premium game, the full version is part of EA Play and Xbox Game Pass Ultimate on all platforms. EA even made the game free to play for the first ten days of launch.

Now that Knockout City's launch trial is over, EA returned with another promotion to keep the party going. Knockout City is now free for the first 25 levels (Street Rank) across all platforms. In other words, you can download and play the game to your heart's content, so long as you remain below level 25.

After that, you'll need to either buy the game for $20 or subscribe to EA Play or Xbox Game Pass Ultimate to continue playing. All your progress will carry over to the full version, of course.

This is a good move, especially considering Knockout City is a multiplayer-only game, and many of those tend to struggle to maintain an active audience. Hopefully, it'll pay off for EA and developer Velan, as it'll likely result in a constant stream of new players.

Sign in and unlock a world of features

Get access to commenting, homepage personalisation, newsletters, and more!

In this article

Knockout City

PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PC, Nintendo Switch

Related topics
About the Author
Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed


Sherif (he/him) is VG247’s go-to shooter and Souls-likes person. Whether it’s news, reviews, or op-eds – Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He's one of VG247's most veteran writers, with 10+ years experience on the site.