Skip to main content

Indie Speed Run judges announced for world's first online game jam

Indie Speed Run judges have been announced for the "world's first online game jam," and the list reads like a who's who of indie development.

The panel judges are: Markus “Notch” Persson, Kellee Santiago, Ron Gilbert, Trent Oster, Dino Patti, Jason Rohrer, Vander Caballero and Zero Punctuation's Ben "Yahtzee" Crowshaw.

“We've always loved the innovation and creativity that comes out of game jams,” said Indie Speed Run co-founder Michael Kayatta.

“But it's hard asking people from around the world to be in the same place on the same day. That's why we made Indie Speed Run exclusively online, with a 48-hour countdown timer that can be started at a time that works for the developer, not just the jam.

"We also wanted to reward creators by putting their work in front of the industry's top minds, and incentivize them with money can be used to further develop their ideas.”

The game jam starts today and is open to "students, professionals and amateurs alike," according to GI International. All entries will have 48 hours to create a game.

Indie Speed Run will end on January 6, with the grand prize of $2,500 awarded to the victor which will be announced February 5.

Read this next