If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Infernal Shrines Battleground for Heroes of the Storm releases today

Blizzard has announced the Infernal Shrines Battleground will launch today for Heroes of the Storm.

The Diablo-themed content will be playable in all game modes, and Blizzard will "temporarily reduce the size" of the normal pool one week to increase the chances players can play Infernal Shrines when queuing for matchmaking.

The six Battlegrounds selected for this rotation August 26 – September 2 are:

Infernal Shrines
Battlefield of Eternity
Cursed Hollow
Dragon Shire
Sky Temple
Tomb of the Spider Queen

Blackheart’s Bay, Garden of Terror and Haunted Mines will not be available for matchmaking but can be played via Custom Games.

Announced at gamescom as part of the Diablo-themed Eternal Conflict in-game event, the Infernal Shrines map is a three-lane Battleground where teams will call upon the “massive Punisher demon” in order to hunt the opposing team’s Heroes.

The content will also include two new playable characters: Rexxar the half-ogre, half-orc beastmaster from Warcraft and his bear pet Misha. Those who pre-ordered StarCraft 2: Legacy of the Void will be able to use StarCraft’s Artanis.

Melee support Hero Kharazim, Monk of Ivgorod, was patched in earlier this month. The Diablo 3 character was announced in June during E3 2015.

About the Author

Stephany Nunneley avatar

Stephany Nunneley

News Editor

Half-blind/half-dyslexic, bad typist, wine enthusiast, humanitarian, intellectual savant, idiot savior, lover of all things nonsensical, animal hoarder and highly sarcastic.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch