If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Someone created a fake Ghost Recon Breakpoint website that redirects to... Anthem

Either there's a joke here I am not getting, or this is merely a meaningless troll.

Sometime after the reveal of Ghost Recon Breakpoint, which took place last night, the website ghostreconbreakpoint.com started showing up on social media. This is, obviously, not the official site for the game.

Rather than it leading to some hilarious gif or a Rickroll, the site instead redirects to Anthem's homepage. According to Whois, the domain is owned by someone in Manchester, UK.

It was created on May 8, which is also when the site went live, presumably after the person responsible assumed the leaked Breakpoint subtitle is accurate. Unsurprisingly, the log doesn't list any admins or contact details.

None of this is out of the ordinary; people buy domains as a joke all the time, but they usually plan to use them in something more elaborate. I am not sure what landing on Anthem's homepage signifies here. Why not redirect to The Division 2, or even Wildlands?

I find it hard to believe anyone looking forward to Breakpoint will be dissuaded by Anthem. Even setting aside their different genres, themes, and gameplay - the two games aren't even competing in the same space.

Ubisoft's lawyers may already be in the process of taking it down, so have fun while you still can.

For more serious coverage, check out Alex's hands-on impressions.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch