If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Dying Light: The Following is getting a new difficulty level and it's a Nightmare

Techland has announced new difficulty level for Dying Light: The Following - Enhanced Edition dubbed Nightmare Mode.

The new difficulty level restricts overpowered Easter Egg weapons, introduces XP penalties for dying, and "ramps up" the difficulty of enemies, and more.

Playing Nightmare Mode in co-op will earn players XP faster and increases their chance of finding gold tier weapons, so that's a plus.

“We’ve designed the Nightmare Mode for those seeking a really challenging and immersive experience," said producer Tymon Smektala. "Nightmare Mode takes everything that was brutal in our Hard Mode and twists it even more.

“We’re trying to bring the Dying Light experience closer and closer to the feeling of a real apocalypse survival experience where every move you make can really determine if you live or die."

Nightmare Mode will be a part of Dying Light: The Following – Enhanced Edition which launches February 9, 2016 for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in boxed and digital format.

Players who already have the base version of the game will be able to buy the expansion Dying Light: The Following individually as downloadable content.

All buying options are listed on the game's official website.

About the Author

Stephany Nunneley avatar

Stephany Nunneley

News Editor

Half-blind/half-dyslexic, bad typist, wine enthusiast, humanitarian, intellectual savant, idiot savior, lover of all things nonsensical, animal hoarder and highly sarcastic.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch