If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny: The Taken King - What are Runes? This video explains them

Destiny: The Taken King contains Runes, such as the Agonarch Rune shown in today's livestream.

Runes are a new consumable and can be found in the Dreadnaught, and antiquated Runes are rare drops in Tier 2, the Nightfall, and Raids. They are used to start Tier 3 events, but Tier 2 must be completed first.

In the video above, Arekkz Gaming focuses on the first two Runes, how to use them, and where to buy them.

There will be four Rune types in the expansion and the levels will vary, but higher ones can be used.

Destiny: The Taken King will be released on September 15.

About the Author

Stephany Nunneley avatar

Stephany Nunneley

News Editor

Half-blind/half-dyslexic, bad typist, wine enthusiast, humanitarian, intellectual savant, idiot savior, lover of all things nonsensical, animal hoarder and highly sarcastic.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch