If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny The Taken King: Light levels, character boost and more explained

The Taken King brings back the good ol' experience points needed for levelling up. But Light levels are not going away completely.

Bungie's mega Destiny The Taken King livestream delved into what it called "the new Light system". Light no longer factors into your base character level, but you'll still need to keep an eye on it as it determines activity difficulty and more.

Alex gives you the lowdown on the new revamped Light system, how to increase your Light, and what governs it. The character boost, which ships with all copies, is also explained.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch