If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny: The Taken King ditches light levels for pure XP system

Destiny: The Taken King brings dramatic changes to the current progression system.


Destiny: The Taken King raises the level cap to 40 but ditches the original game's esoteric, armour-based Light system in favour of pure XP progression.

The news was revealed as part of Game Informer's month-long The Taken King spotlight. Hit the link for some discussion with creative director Luke Smith as to why Bungie felt the need to introduce changes.

It's not clear whether players will find themselves dropped back to level 20 or whether their current level, which may be as high as 34 depending on their gear, will be converted to an XP level.

This follows word that all your Legendary equipment will be made redundant with no recourse to upgrading, and that Peter Dinklage's voice acting is being replaced with Nolan North's.

Destiny: The Taken King releases on September 15.

Sign in and unlock a world of features

Get access to commenting, homepage personalisation, newsletters, and more!

In this article
Follow a topic and we'll email you when we write an article about it.


PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, PC

Destiny: The Taken King

Video Game

Related topics
About the Author
Brenna Hillier avatar

Brenna Hillier


Based in Australia and having come from a lengthy career in the Aussie games media, Brenna worked as VG247's remote Deputy Editor for several years, covering news and events from the other side of the planet to the rest of the team. After leaving VG247, Brenna retired from games media and crossed over to development, working as a writer on several video games.