If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Cuphead reviews round-up - here's all the review scores

Cuphead is one of the year's most anticipated Xbox exclusives - how has it fared in reviews?

We've been waiting a long time for Cuphead - it was first revealed in 2014, and has been delayed several times. Originally it was going to be made up entirely of boss battles, but last year the game changed directions somewhat and added more traditional shooter levels.

Cuphead stands out for its unique art style, which perfectly captures the aesthetics of old timey cartoons from the 1930s. It looks gorgeous, both in screenshots and in motion. We've been enthusiastic about it for a while. It's one of the Xbox One's rare console exclusives, so fans of the system have been pretty invested in it.

cuphead

The final game is very difficult, right from the very beginning, so critics have really had their work cut out for them. Here's how the game has fared in the early reviews:

Cuphead is out today, September 29, from 9 AM ET / 1 PM GMT / 11 PM AEST.

Find out how we conduct our reviews by reading our review policy.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More Reviews

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch