If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Civilization 6 is getting a new season pass and eight new civs

Four years after its launch, Civilization 6 is getting a new season pass that will deliver six fresh DLC packs.

Starting May 21, developer Firaxis Games will release a new DLC pack every other month through to next year. The first on the block is the Maya and Gran Columbia Pack, which includes two new civilizations and leaders, an Apocalypse game mode, new City-Stats, resource, and natural wonders.

This will be followed in July by the Ethiopia pack, which adds the Ethiopian civilization, along with a new leader, districts, and a Secret Societies game mode. Future packs will then be added bi-monthly until May 21 of next year, each introducing at least one new civilization, new leaders, and a new game mode.

“It’s been four years since we first announced Civilization VI, and the support from fans and players has been overwhelming,” said Firaxis Games franchise lead designer Ed Beach in a press release. “After two giant expansions in ‘Rise and Fall’ and ‘Gathering Storm,’ four years’ worth of balance updates and more, Civilization VI has grown into the flagship title for the series.”

Civilization 6's New Frontier Pass will cost $39.99 and is available for PC, Mac, Linux, PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch. And if you're thinking about getting back into the game, have a read of our recent feature on playing Civilization during a global pandemic.

Sign in and unlock a world of features

Get access to commenting, homepage personalisation, newsletters, and more!

In this article

Sid Meier's Civilization VI

PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PC, Nintendo Switch

Related topics
About the Author
Emily Gera avatar

Emily Gera