If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Battlefield 2042 open beta delayed slightly

The Battlefield 2042 beta should have opened up to everyone by now, but it has been pushed back a couple of hours.

DICE has announced a last-minute delay to the start of the open portion of the Battlefield 2042 beta. The test kicked off Wednesday for pre-order players and EA Play members, and the beta will open up today to everyone else.

However, the test was supposed to kick off at 12am PT, 3am ET, 8am UK, but this has now been delayed by two hours. DICE will be performing server maintenance before it opens the floodgates.

Sadly, this delayed start won't push back the beta's end time, unless the developer decides to extend it at the last minute.

The Battlefield 2042 beta has been doing some really good numbers so far, even if it's yet to go fully open.

The response has been mixed, however. Some do not appreciate the eroding of the class system in favour of similar-looking Specialists, while others are concerned with the game's performance and overall jank. Of course, there are plenty of positive comments, too. A few aspects, however, have been almost universally criticised, such as the bizarre ditching of Battlefield 5's movement mechanics.

I called out some of that in my impressions after spending a few hours with the beta. I had a fairly fun time with it overall, even if a few things stood out to me as in need for changing.

Battlefield 2042 is out November 19 on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch