If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Batman: Arkham Origins has extra hard I Am the Night mode with permadeath

Warner Bros. Montreal has implemented a permadeath mode for Batman: Arkham Origins, which is only for the most experienced Batmen.

Speaking to Eurogamer, producer Guillaume Voghel said the new mode is called I Am the Night, and adds even greater longevity to an already lengthy game.

"The main narrative arc and side missions last about 12 hours, and then you have all the collectibles. To get 100% of that will take much, much longer," he said.

"We have a new difficulty level, New Game Plus is coming pack - that's really difficult - and when you're done with that there's I Am The Night mode - which is no saves and one life."

The article also talks a little bit about Initiation, a piece of story DLC first detailed with the season pass announcement in which you play as Bruce Wayne.

Batman: Arkham Origins is due on PC, PlayStation 3, Wii U and Xbox 360 on October 25.

Thanks, Joystiq.

Sign in and unlock a world of features

Get access to commenting, homepage personalisation, newsletters, and more!

In this article

Batman: Arkham Origins

Android, iOS, PS3, Xbox 360, Nintendo Wii U, PC

Related topics
About the Author
Brenna Hillier avatar

Brenna Hillier


Based in Australia and having come from a lengthy career in the Aussie games media, Brenna worked as VG247's remote Deputy Editor for several years, covering news and events from the other side of the planet to the rest of the team. After leaving VG247, Brenna retired from games media and crossed over to development, working as a writer on several video games.