Lil Nas X is holding a concert experience in Roblox tonight

By Patrick Dane, Saturday, 14 November 2020 10:00 GMT

The Old Town Road rapper will be taking to the ever-popular cuboid game.

Lil Nas X will be holding a concert in Roblox tonight, bringing an unlikely creative partnership to fruition. The concert will see the musician perform a handful of songs, but also his new track, ‘Holiday’.

As Covid-19 continues to affect the world, concerts and live-performances are becoming rarer and rarer. Impossible in fact, at least in their traditional form. This has seen musicians getting creative. Several have turned to video games, creating huge events both for the performer and the game itself.  Fortnite has seen some of the biggest of such events and peaked when the Travis Scott experience pulled in over 27 million viewers.

Lil Nas X announced the partnership in a short video clip over Twitter, giving players a sneak peek at the song.

You don’t have too long to prepare for the event, as it is going live in a couple of hours. The performance goes live tonight at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM UK.

This isn’t Roblox’s first foray into music-based events either. The game held an album launch party for pop star Ava Max just last month, which saw over a million people attend.

After Fortnite, Roblox is a great target for any prospective live event. The game is absolutely massive, having over 100 million active users. The title is obviously keen on these kinds of collaborations too, so I expect we will see more in the very near future.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments