Marvel’s Avengers next-gen release pushed into 2021, Kate Bishop DLC delayed

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 16 October 2020 16:02 GMT

Crystal Dynamics has delayed the next-gen release of Marvel’s Avengers into 2021, and have pushed the Kate Bishop content out of October.

In a blog post today, the developer said the reason for the Kate Bishop delay for Marvel’s Avengers is to have a “fixed, predictable patching cycle,” with time for extensive testing before new content is released.

The team also made the decision to move the PS5 and Xbox Series X/S release into 2021 to ensure it gives the team time to “deliver a next-gen experience showcasing all that this game is meant to be.”

“Marvel’s Avengers’ launch was not without turbulence, and we recognize that a number of issues detracted from your enjoyment of the game,” reads the blog post. “This does not align with Crystal Dynamics’ value of craftsmanship, and for that, we sincerely apologize.”

As a sign of appreciation to players, starting October 22, Crystal Dynamics will hand players a digital thank-you bundle, which includes:

  • Credits: 1500 – Enough for a Legendary Skin and Nameplate from the Marketplace
  • Units: 7000
  • Upgrade Modules: 250
  • DNA Keys: 20
  • A Sarah Garza-Inspired Nameplate

This bundle will be available until 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK on November 5.

Marvel’s Avengers was the best-selling game of September in the US. Launch month sales of the title were the highest for any superhero game in US history, trailing only Marvel’s Spider-Man. The game is now the seventh best-selling game of 2020.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments