You can pre-load Call of Duty: Warzone patch 1.28 on PS4 ahead of its Wednesday release

By Dom Peppiatt, Monday, 12 October 2020 15:18 GMT

Call of Duty: Warzone is getting a new patch later this week, and you can get it pre-installed on your PlayStation 4 right now.

Update 1.28 was made available to download for players in Call of Duty: Warzone and Modern Warfare on PS4 earlier today (October 12).

Though you can get the massive patches downloaded onto your console, you cannot actually install it until Wednesday, October 14.

The game file is set to a timer that will allow you to apply the new patch to your game at 2am ET and 7am BST (that’s Tuesday at 11pm PT).

We’ve seen Activision and Infinity Ward do this before. In September, we saw developer Infinity Ward offer up a pre-load of the massive Season 6 patch to players on PlayStation 4.

Similarly to last time, PC and Xbox users have to download the huge update on the actual day if they want to get online and play – there is no option to pre-load updates on these systems.

Luckily, this incoming patch isn’t that big. The 1.28 update only comes in at 10GB (or thereabouts), so it’s not another stupendously huge file to add onto Modern Warfare and Warzone’s already ludicrous size.

The developer and publisher hasn’t disclosed what’s in this patch, but given that we’re heading towards Halloween, it’s safe to assume it’s probably zombies or something equally as spooky.

We shouldn’t have to wait too long to find out, though.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments