Gamescom Opening Night Live to feature 38 games, run for two hours

By Sherif Saed
25 August 2020 12:57 GMT

This week’s Opening Night Live will be a meaty show with a tonne of games.

Host Geoff Keighley has confirmed that gamescom Opening Night Live, which takes place this Thursday, will encompass 38 games at a runtime of two hours.

Though it is associated with a German event, the show is being produced live in Los Angeles. There won’t be a studio audience, however, which is expected given how risky public gatherings can be in the midst of a pandemic.

Of the 38 games included, some will be entirely new reveals, and most will be updates on existing/previously-announced games.

Over the past few days, Keighley has been confirming a new of the big-ticket reveals at the show. The list so far includes a fresh look at Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War, the Season 2 reveal for Fall Guys, new Star Wars: Squadrons gameplay, as well as new trailers from Doom Eternal, Destiny 2, Mafia: Definitive Edition, Spellbreak and more.

You’ll be able to follow the show on Youtube and Twitch, beginning 11am PT, 2pm ET, 7pm UK on Thursday, August 27.

Watch on YouTube

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch