Borderlands 3 free weekend is live on Steam, PS4 and Xbox One

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 7 August 2020 11:27 GMT

Everyone can play Borderlands 3 completely free for the next few days.

Those on the fence about Borderlands 3 can try out the game as part of its free weekend, which is already live on (almost) all platforms. The offer is available on Steam, PS4, Xbox One and even Stadia – but not on the Epic Games Store.

Though they all kicked off yesterday, each platform’s free weekend ends on a different day/at different times. Check out how it all breaks down below:

  • Steam: free weekend ends Wednesday, August 12 at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK.
  • PS4: free weekend ends Sunday, August 9 at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm UK.
  • Xbox One: free weekend ends Sunday, August 9 at 11:59pm PT and 2:59am ET, 7:59am UK on August 10.
  • Stadia: free weekend ends Monday, August 10 at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm UK.

As for content, the game’s main campaign is entirely available to play solo or in co-op without any limitations. Although the free weekend is not available on the Epic Games Store, thanks to PC cross-play, Steam users can party up with EGS players who already own the game. At that point, matchmaking will be done using your Shift account, which is required for cross-store multiplayer.

Borderlands 3 does not support cross-play between PC and consoles, or between PS4 and Xbox One, so just keep that in mind. Of course, all progress made will carry over on the same platform, should you decide to buy the full game. PlayStation Plus is required on PS4, and the game is on sale during the same periods across all four platforms.

If you ever feel stuck, don’t hesitate to check out our massive Borderlands 3 guide that covers everything from item locations, overpowered equipment, builds, boss tactics, Easter eggs and more.

And, as one last bonus, free weekend players will also, by default, enjoy increased Legendary loot drops from bosses, as part of the Bonus Boss Loot in-game event. This is only one of several other events to celebrate the game’s anniversary, which rotate all the way until September 10.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

12-20
SEPTEMBER
2020
THE WORLD'S
LARGEST DIGITAL
GAMES EVENT
New games | Panels | Let's Plays | Industry Insight | Esports tournaments | Livestreams | Tabletop gaming | Exclusive merch | More!

Comments