Test Drive back from the dead to tease upcoming reveal

By Sherif Saed, Monday, 6 July 2020 11:05 GMT

We’re getting a new Test Drive game, and it’s being revealed this week.

A recently-created Twitter account for Test Drive posted its first Tweet on Friday. It had a brief teaser of a new logo, with the promise of more news this week.

The Tweet points to the Nacon Connect event, which takes place tomorrow. Nacon is the new name for publisher Bigben Interactive, and tomorrow’s Direct-style show is set to bring a number of fresh announcements and show off new gameplay from many Bigben-published games.

The existence of a new Test Drive game was actually confirmed earlier this year in an interview with Gamesbeat, where head of publishing, Benoit Clerc, revealed the game is in development at French studio Kylotonn, maker of WRC and Isle of Man TT.

The Test Drive series has been dormant for over eight years now. The most recent release was Slightly Mad Studios’ Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends, which came out in 2012 on PC, PS3 and Xbox 360. Test Drive, of course, is best remembered for the Unlimited series of games, which experimented with open-world design in the genre before it became standard.

Nacon Connect kicks off at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK on the publisher’s Youtube channel.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

12-20
SEPTEMBER
2020
THE WORLD'S
LARGEST DIGITAL
GAMES EVENT
New games | Panels | Let's Plays | Industry Insight | Esports tournaments | Livestreams | Tabletop gaming | Exclusive merch | More!

Comments