Sony to develop PS5 exclusives which will not be playable on PS4

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 29 May 2020 18:07 GMT

Sony plans to release PlayStation 5 exclusives which would not be playable on PS4.

This is according to Sony’s Jim Ryan speaking with GI.biz who told the site the company plans on developing games that will be exclusive to PS5.

“We have always said that we believe in generations,” said Ryan. “We believe that when you go to all the trouble of creating a next-gen console, it should include features and benefits that the previous generation does not include. And that, in our view, people should make games that can make the most of those features.

“We do believe in generations, and whether it’s the DualSense controller, whether it’s the 3D audio, whether it’s the multiple ways that the SSD can be used… we are thinking that it is time to give the PlayStation community something new, something different, that can really only be enjoyed on PS5.”

Microsoft will handle things differently though, as the company doesn’t plan on releasing games exclusive to Xbox Series X until at least a year or even two after the console launches. This means that Microsoft Studios games will be made available for both consoles, at least during the launch period. This is according to Matt Booty who said to expect titles to be playable across both Xbox One and Xbox Series X.

Next week, on June 4, Sony will reveal games for PS5 and the livestream will kick off at 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm BST on the day. It is expected to run for a little over an hour.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments