PS5 games event set for June 4

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 29 May 2020 16:11 GMT

Sony’s rumoured PS5 event has been officially confirmed.

Next week, on Thursday, June 4, Sony will finally reveal PlayStation 5 games. The livestream will kick off at 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm BST on the day.

Sony says it’ll run for a little over an hour, and show off games coming to PS5 from studios of all sizes. It didn’t specify if that also includes first-party studios.

As always, you’ll be able to watch the show on the official PlayStation channels on YouTube and Twitch.

Sony also confirmed that this is only the beginning, with other reveals planned for the rest of the year.

It doesn’t look like we’ll see the final console design on this one, just software.

“We’ve shared technical specifications and shown you the new DualSense wireless controller. But what is a launch without games?” said Sony’s Jim Ryan on the official PlayStation blog.

“This digital showcase will run for a bit more than an hour and, for the first time, we will all be together virtually experiencing the excitement together.

“A lack of physical events has given us an amazing opportunity to think differently and bring you on this journey with us, and hopefully, closer than ever before. This is part of our series of PS5 updates and, rest assured, after next week’s showcase, we will still have much to share with you.”

Sony has just told games developers that any new games submitted for certification on PS4 from July will need to be PlayStation 5 compatible.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

12-20
SEPTEMBER
2020
THE WORLD'S
LARGEST DIGITAL
GAMES EVENT
New games | Panels | Let's Plays | Industry Insight | Esports tournaments | Livestreams | Tabletop gaming | Exclusive merch | More!

Comments