Pokemon to be featured during next Pokemon Go Community Day will be put to a vote

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 19 May 2020 15:58 GMT

Niantic Labs wants you to vote on the next Pokemon to be featured for the June and July Pokemon Go Community Days.

You can cast your vote for one of four Pokemon to be featured in the next Pokemon Go Community Day event.

Voting will take place May 23-24 via the Pokemon Go Twitter account. Voting will kick off on May 23 at 6pm PDT, 9pm EDT (2am BST, 3am CEST), and end on May 24 at the same time. You will have 24 hours to cast one vote for the Pokemon you’d like for either the June or July Community Day.

After voting ends, the winners will be announced. The Pokemon that receives the most votes will be the featured creature for June Community Day, and the runner up will be featured during the July Community Day.

 

Community Day candidates are listed below, courtesy of the Pokemon Go blog, alongside the exclusive attacks for Community Day

  • Squirtle: Evolve Wartortle (evolved form of Squirtle) to get a Blastoise that knows the Fighting-type attack Aura Sphere. Currently, an exclusive attack that only Lucario can learn, Aura Sphere will be handy when up against Steel-type Pokemon in the Go Battle League, such as Registeel.
  • Weedle: Evolve Kakuna (the evolved form of Weedle) to get a Beedrill that knows the Ground-type attack Drill Run. A combination of Beedrill’s Bug and Poison types with the Ground-type Drill Run should prove to be a good combination.
  • Sandshrew: Sandshrew as originally discovered in the Kanto region will be appearing in the wild and hatching from Eggs. Alolan Sandshrew will be appearing in Raid Battles. Evolve Sandshrew or Alolan Sandshrew to get a Sandslash or Alolan Sandslash that knows the Ghost-type attack Shadow Claw. Shadow Claw will give Alolan Sandslash a new Fast Attack that both charges Charged Attacks faster and is more powerful than Powder Snow.
  • Gastly: Evolve Haunter (the evolved form of Gastly) to get a Gengar that knows the Ghost-type attack Shadow Punch. Shadow Punch’s ability to charge up quickly will give Gengar a useful attack to trick your opponent into using their Protect Shields. This can leave you with an opening to pull off more powerful attacks later, like Shadow Ball.

Niantic said bonuses and more details for Community Day will be announced at a later date.

Don’t forget to vote.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments