We’ll learn more about PS5 tomorrow

By Sherif Saed
17 March 2020 12:21 GMT

Tomorrow is a big day for PlayStation.

Sony has announced that PS5 lead system architect, Mark Cerny, will offer a “deep dive into PS5’s system architecture, and how it will shape the future of games” tomorrow.

The Tweet announcing this news points to the PlayStation Blog, but it’s not clear if this is going to be a livestream or a prepared blog post, we’re guessing the latter. In any case, news will drop at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 4pm UK.

The timing of this is certainly interesting. Microsoft just got done revealing heaps of new information about Xbox Series X in a series of blog posts that covered full console specs, new features like Quick Resume, hardware-based ray tracing, new backwards compatibility additions and even the revamped controller.

By comparison, Sony has been quiet since it spoke to Wired last October. In the intervening months, we’ve only ever gotten a new logo that looks identical to the old one, save for the number.

It’s best to temper your expectations, however, as namedropping “system architecture” could just mean that we’re getting some high-level aspirations and not the meaty details we’ve been hoping for. We’ll be here to bring you any and all of them, as always. Until then, here’s everything confirmed so far about PS5.

Watch on YouTube

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch