Dying Light’s first ever free weekend live on Steam alongside new Story Mode

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 21 February 2020 08:59 GMT

You won’t be playing Dying Light 2 anytime soon, so you may as well revisit the original gem.

With the recent Dying Light 2 indefinite delay, series developer Techland decided to throw a big party to celebrate the original Dying Light‘s fifth birthday.

Techland has a few events lined up for everyone to join. Dying Light’s first ever free weekend is live on Steam all the way until Sunday, February 23 at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK. The game is also on sale for up to 67% off, bringing the price down to just under $16. Although the free weekend is exclusive to PC, the sale is live on all platforms.

The 5th Anniversary Bundle, available now on all platforms, includes the game, the Harran Ranger Bundle DLC, plus an exclusive outfit and buggy paint job. This version also comes with upgraded blueprints for a new pipe, new sledgehammer, and a new double-barrelled shotgun. You can purchase this add-on separately for $3.

As part of a free update to Dying Light, Techland also added a new difficulty mode designed for those who just want to experience the story. The aptly-named Story Mode reduces zombie damage, fall damage and boosts player damage and XP earn. It joins the existing Normal, Hard and Nightmare difficulties.

The developer also has more events coming from now until March 19, along with some community rewards, including a new weapon blueprint, and a C4 sticky bomb.

In case you missed it, all current and future owners also get Dying Light: Bad Blood on PC completely free, so that’s another bonus to look forward to.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments