Destiny 2 servers are back online, but character progress has been rolled back

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 29 January 2020 09:03 GMT

The issue of lost materials in Destiny 2 has been fixed, and the game brought back online.

Yesterday’s Destiny 2 2.7.1 hotfix release went awry. Shortly after the patch went live, players started reporting missing materials en masse, including glimmer, infusion materials, Bright Dust and more.

Bungie quickly took the game offline, and worked on creating a fix. All the while, Destiny 2 was unplayable. About four hours ago, Destiny 2 servers finally came back online.

The good news is that players won’t need to download anymore updates in order to play, but the bad news is that some elements will be lost. All character data has been rolled back to the backup made at 8:30am PT, 11:30am ET, 4:30pm UK, shortly after the patch’s release.

While this should restore any lost materials, it also means progress made before servers went offline is lost. In other words, if you jumped on immediately after downloading the patch, you’ll be reset back to the moment the patch released. This goes for all activity and character progression in Destiny 2.

If you made any purchases using Silver or Bright Dust during that window, those will be refunded and you’ll have to buy what you want again. The only thing that won’t be affected is the Silver you bought on Steam/PS Store/Xbox Store.

Now that you’re back online, be sure to hit up our guides for how to get the Bastion Exotic fusion rifle, and the Savior of the Past emblem – both being a big part of this season’s content.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments