Monster Hunter World Iceborne beta returns this weekend, this time with Velkhana

By Sherif Saed, Tuesday, 27 August 2019 10:00 GMT

Capcom is hosting one final round of the Monster Hunter World Iceborne beta ahead of launch.

This new test is coming first to PS4 this weekend, followed by Xbox One early next week. Much like the June beta, this weekend’s Monster Hunter World Iceborne test is designed for new and existing players.

It features the relatively simple Great Jagras hunt from the main game, as well as the new Banbaro and Tigrex hunts from Iceborne. The big news this time, though, is the arrival of Velkhana, the recently revealed Elder Dragon.

As with the previous beta, you’ll be able to explore a limited section of the new Hoarfrost Reach map, not to mention make use of new tools like the The Clutch Claw, Raider Ride, and even try out the new weapon combos.

During the beta, four quests will be active for all players. Completing each one will earn you a commendation pack at launch, assuming you buy Iceborne on the same platform. Commendation packs include helpful items like meal vouchers and max potions.

See below for the full beta schedule on PS4 and Xbox One. Keep in mind that PS Plus and XBL Gold are required only if you want to play with others, but the beta can be played solo.

PS4

  • Start: Friday, August 30 at 12am PT, 3am ET, 8am BST.
  • End: Sunday, September 1 at 11:59pm PT, 2:59am ET (September 2), 7:59am BST (September 2).

Xbox One

  • Start: Monday, September 2 at 12am PT, 3am ET, 8am BST.
  • End: Wednesday, September 4 at 11:59pm PT, 2:59am ET (September 5), 7:59am BST (September 5).

Monster Hunter World Iceborne launches September 6 on PS4 and Xbox One. The expansion is due in January on PC.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments