Ark: Survival Evolved Valguero update arrives on PS4 and Xbox One

By Stephany Nunneley
19 July 2019 15:58 GMT

The Ark: Survival Evolved Valguero update will be released for consoles in just a couple of hours.

Studio Wildcard will release the latest free update to Ark: Survival Evolved on consoles this afternoon.

PlayStation 4 and Xbox One users can download the update today at 10am PDT, 1pm EDT, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.

The Valguero map comes with more space to run around, a new creature, and more.

The 63 km map features new biomes, dungeon bosses, ruins, and environmental hazards such as snowfields and lava flows. The new creature is Deinonychus, a feathered theropod, and is found only in Valguero.

Watch on YouTube

Valguero started life as a mod for Ark: Survival Evolved, and the update is already available for PC.

Studio Wildcard said Valguero will arrive as a regular game update, which means you won’t need to download anything special from the marketplace.

The Ark Valguero Expansion Map Includes

  • Expanded Exploration: Over 63 square kilometers of new land and sea to explore!
  • Peaks and Valleys: Eight Biomes with a vast array of climates and dangers – tread lightly through the hazards of Skeleton Gorge, see the vistas on top of the Twin Peaks or find remnants of the past at the Lost Temple.
  • Triple Threat Boss Challenges: A boss arena where players face an  epic battle against a Megapithecus, Manticore and Dragon in this heavy-hitting, triple threat encounter! Face familiar dangers in the End-Game Boss encounter in an entirely different way!
  • New Dinosaur – Deinonychus: Encounter the ill-natured Deinonychus! Similar to the raptor, it uses speed and agility to leap wall ledge to wall ledge as it seeks high vantage points to lie in wait for prey. This contentious beast is fearless and will hunt prey much larger than itself, latching onto a larger dinosaur’s back with its sickle-shaped claws as it starts to feed before its victim is even dead.
  • Into The Trenches: A large network of caves to spelunk as you delve into unexplored territory featuring different themes and varied perks, including the extensive Aberration Trench.
  • Secrets From the Ancient Age: Explore scattered ruins throughout the world of forgotten Valguero survivors.

Alongside the release of Valguero, perks will be doled out starting today through Monday, July 22. All official servers across each platform will see double Harvesting Rates, Taming Rates, and EXP Rates.

In the announcement, the developers also noted duping exploits were being looked into.The engineering team is looking at potential fixes and will take action on the duping as “swiftly as possible.”

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch