Today’s Borderlands 3 reveal won’t be about crossplay

By Sherif Saed, Tuesday, 16 July 2019 09:21 GMT

Gearbox will be livestreaming some sort of Borderlands 3 reveal later today.

The developer recently announced the Celebration of Togetherness event for Borderlands 3. This online gathering will be livestreamed today at 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm BST.

The developer did not give any hints as to what’s going to be shown off, but the name lead a lot of people to assume it’s when Gearbox will announce crossplay support for Borderlands 3. Both the studio and publisher 2K games always maintained a public interest in crossplay, but never officially confirmed its existence for the game.

Unfortunately, Celebration of Togetherness in this instance means something other than crossplay. Gearbox CEO Randy Pitchford clarified that the event will not in fact be where the team announces crossplay support for Borderlands 3.

Adding further clarification, Pitchford reiterated that the game won’t have any form of crossplay at launch, but the team remains committed to supporting the feature “as soon as practicable after launch.”

We’ve embedded the official YouTube channel below. Keep the page bookmarked for when the event starts.

Borderlands 3 is out September 13 on PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments