Duos mode joins Battlefield 5 Firestorm for a limited time

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 12 April 2019 14:16 GMT

DICE has added duos mode as an option in Battlefield 5’s battle royale mode, Firestorm.

Unfortunately, you only have a limited time to try it out. Duos, which went live yesterday for Battlefield 5 players, will only be available until 3am PT, 6am ET,11am BST on Monday, April 15.

When Firestorm launched three weeks ago, it did so with solos, and four-player squads. DICE said at the time that the duos variant will be added at some point, but only for a limited time.

It’s not clear why duos is not a permanent option in Firestorm, like it is in other battle royale modes. DICE did explain, however, that it’s looking for feedback on many aspects such as pacing, frequency of hot drops and more.

One reason why the mode isn’t permanent may have something to do with player population.

If player numbers are not where they need to be to sustain three Firestorm modes – not to mention the rest of Battlefield 5’s main offering – limiting the number of modes could be a way of reducing matchmaking times. Indeed, players are already lamenting long matchmaking times.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments