Black Ops 4 now has a comic book series to help make you care about its murdery multiplayer heroes

By Dave Meikleham
27 September 2018 15:32 GMT

So long, Spider-Man. Buh-bye, Batman. Bugger off, Beano. There’s a spectacularly shooty new comic book contender in town.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 may not have a traditional single-player campaign, but that doesn’t mean the upcoming FPS is bereft of narrative. Instead of a full-blown story mode, the shooter has individual solo missions focusing on the main multiplayer mode’s Specialists.

To help familiarise players with these trigger-happy tykes, Activision is releasing a ten-part online comic series that delves into the backstories of these high-tech military murderers.

Each comic focuses on a specific Specialist, and the series will cover Ruin, Prophet, Crash, Torque, Firebreak, Nomad, Recon, Seraph, Ajax, Battery, and Shooty McShoot Face. Alright, one of those might be made up.

Ruin, Prophet, and Crash’s comics are already live, while the rest will likely launch before Black Ops 4 releases on Oct 12. Here are a few pages to get your cartoon murder juices flowing:

Hey, at least Activision is trying to make you emotionally invest in its super folk, right? Of course, we’d still prefer an actual solo campaign to go along with a multiplayer that needs to flesh out its story via online cartoons, and a flashy PUBG tribute act – we’re sure you’ll be cool, Blackout.

Still, points for effort, Acti.

Cheers, Eurogamer.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch