You’ll probably finally learn to be good with the VSS in this week’s PUBG event mode

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 7 September 2018 13:56 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds’ event mode for this weekend has been announced, and it’s one of those that levels the playing field by forcing everyone to use the same weapon.

Silent and Violent is the name of PUBG’s event mode this week. In it, players are limited to using the VSS. Silent and Violent is played on Sanhok, available for four-player squads.

The VSS is one of the hardest weapons to use in PUBG, not because of excessive recoil or anything like that. Bullets simply travel at a lower speed than any other rifle, meaning it’s incredibly hard to use in medium and long rage firefights.

It also doesn’t do a lot of damage, which is another reason most players just avoid it. However, in the right hands, the VSS can be one of the deadliest weapons in PUBG. It barely makes a sound when being fired, so it’s the perfect weapon for ambushes.

Provided your target doesn’t return fire, you could easily keep chipping away at their HP and watch as they run in circles confused as to where they’re being shot from.

Outside of that, you’ll be spawning with a level one helmet, and level one vest. Air drops are disabled, so you won’t be finding any upgrades during the match.

The VSS you spawn with will be fully-kitted, and you won’t have to worry about friendly fire. You’ll also have an inventory that consists of five bandages, an energy drink, a stun grenade, and a smoke grenade.

Silent and Violent is available in first, and third-person variants in North America, Europe, and Asia. All other regions are limited to the third-person variant.

The event mode is live now on PC until Sunday, September 9 at 7pm PT, 10pm ET – 3am BST on Monday, September 10.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments